Gone Fishing

Standard

A picture of a fluke

Yesterday, my dad was at work and my brother was at camp so, me and my mom decided to go fishing. We’ve been planning this trip for weeks. We chose Captree State Park. They have a 4 hour fluke trip everyday at 11:00 am. We got there at around 10:00 am, we had an extra hour. Until the boat came we just looked around inside the bait and tackle shop (even though the boat provides rods and bait) The hour was over faster than I thought because the boat just arrived. We ran over and waited for the people from the previous trip to get off so we could get on. After they got off we got on. We found a nice spot on the right side of the boat. Just as we were starting to depart, the people who worked on the boat came around asking if anyone would like to enter the dock pool. The dock pool is a contest to see who caught the heaviest fluke all day. My mom entered us both into the pool. It seemed like forever until we were allowed to start fishing. They told us to put some fluke skin and some little fish on the hook. They said this specific type of bait attracts fluke. Almost instantly after I put my line in the water I felt a wiggle on my line, I reeled it in and I saw 2 things, a fish, and a bunch of other lines tangled with mine. Luckily we got our lines untangled, but I had no idea who caught the fish, and the guys said it was a sea robin, you can’t keep sea robins so we had to let it go. The good news was that later I caught a fluke! But the bad news was it was less than16 inches so I had to throw it back. The only other fish I caught during the rest of the trip was another sea robin and before I knew it the boat was back at the dock. Even though I only caught 3 fish, it was a good fishing trip.

Leave a comment